top of page
  • James Vair

What are we talking about?

On October 25, 2017, Angela Davis came to Gonzaga University to give a speech. What I noticed in the Gonzaga Bulletin during the weeks leading to this event was a lot of attempts to convince me that Angela Davis is a “bad” person.


This is very characteristic the independent self, specifically the idea that traits are intrinsic. It does not matter if she has done good, her true nature is “bad.”


These are largely unmoving for me.


The College Republicans made it clear, they just want people to know her background. Specifically involvement with the Black Panther movement and American Communist Party. The latter being a remnant of the “Red Scare.” The purpose of these is to make me aware she is a “bad” person.


Even the Young Democrats writer, expressed he thought she was a “bad” person. He was critical of the fact she was brought in by the Humanities department because this shows the university’s biases. Or something...


Jesus says in John 8:7, “Let any one of you who is without sin be the first to throw a stone at her.”

One can also recall 1 John 1:8, “If we claim to be without sin, we deceive ourselves and the truth is not in us.”


I don’t quote the Bible for a religious agenda, or even imply ideas of “Original Sin” which I don’t believe in. Rather as a reflection piece. All of us has done something wrong, yet we still claim to be good people. In fact the research shows that individuals who have grown up in a western context will actually change their values in order to see a consistent view of themselves as a “good person.”


What does this say about us? Do I consider myself as a good person because I am consistent with a set of virtues. Or am I good because I change my set of virtues to make myself feel more consistent to avoid anxiety.


We need to realize that we are more often than not, inconsistent with our own values. So how can we possibly judge someone as “bad” because of things they have done, when we have also done “bad” things.


I will not make an argument here of Angela Davis being “bad” or “good” or “neutral.” In fact I don’t think someone has the right to make that judgment until one has liberated themselves from all their biases. It’s too bad only four people consistently show up to meditation on Sunday evenings.


Some people may have done more “bad things” than us. Sure, yet in western culture there is a tendency to not consider the whole story. In fact, who has the power to decide what is “good.” Maybe now that ethics course seems useful...

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page